Pearls and Pinks

This lengha was *The One*. I came across a picture of it on Instagram and totally fell in love – I knew it’d be perfect for wedding season!

dsc_5950ed

For those of you who don’t know, a lengha is basically a combination of a skirt, top and scarf. It’s traditionally worn at desi weddings, as an alternative to a sari or a trouser suit.

dsc_6108ed

On heading to Birmingham I found the exact lengha I’d seen online, and bought it pretty much immediately! It was semi-stitched, which was great because it meant I could have it made exactly how I wanted it; the only downside was that it’d take a little more time and effort to have it put together. While I chose to wear the jacket with the net skirt, I also had a pair of matching trousers sewn as an alternative – which I can’t wait to style!
dsc_5952ed

I wanted to keep my jewellery simple and classy, and so I borrowed my Mum’s pearl set and added a few rings.
dsc_6114ed

I love that the Asian fashion industry caters so well to the modest market; it makes it so much easier to dress stylishly without having to bare a lot of skin. There is a classiness to modest dressing which desi clothes carry well.

I can’t wait to make the most of dressing up at the next asian occasion!

dsc_6129

Fatima xx

Don’t forget to follow me on Instagram: @fatcat_95

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Pearls and Pinks

  1. Gigi says:

    Mash’Allah you look stunning. Love, if you can please tell us where we can get something similar to this outfit that would be amazeballs or even some online stores you trust. Please and thank you ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • happilyintothewardrobe says:

      Thank you 🙂 IBT on Soho Road in Birmingham should have something similar, and there are quite a few well-priced shops in Luton, particularly Memsaab. I usually look online for inspiration, but prefer buying clothes in person, so am not sure about reliable online stores. I hope this helps!

      Like

Leave a Reply

