A Mermaid in Wonderland

With graduation over, the final thing that there was to look forward to was the Graduate Ball!

dsc_3182ed

After spending weeks deciding whether we were going to go to the ball – as is always the case with group plans – my friends and I finally got organised. We bought our tickets about two weeks before the day – which didn’t leave me with very much time to find a dress!

_20161218_180005ed

dsc_3181ed

The Ball was to be Alice in Wonderland themed, which had me all the more excited! For those of you who know me, it’s one of my absolutely favourite novels. I wrote a chapter of my disso on Through the Looking Glass and it felt so apt that the Ball that was inspired by something that was such an integral part of my degree. After spending a solid week trying to find a dress that would fit the theme, I scrapped the idea after I remembered a dress I’d picked up from Quiz a few months ago. I absolutely loved the fishtail shape and the sequins, and I already had a pair of matching shoes! While it didn’t entirely convey the childlike whimsy that Alice in Wonderland evokes, if anyone asks, I was channeling Time from the recent Tim Burton film.

dsc_3205ed

I halal-ified the dress (made it more modest) by picking up some grey leggings to layer under it; Southall is perfect for finding leggings in pretty much any colour you need. I also wore a long-sleeved grey t-shirt under the dress to cover my arms. The dress was super blingy so I kept my accessories simple, with a stone bracelet, a velvet choker and a pair of studs.

My inner literary nerd was super happy at seeing all of the characters and themed decor – particularly the Queen of Hearts and the Cheshire Cat! I couldn’t get a lot of good quality photos inside the venue, because the lighting wasn’t ideal, but here are some of the ones that didn’t turn out too badly.

img-20160724-wa0004ed

dsc_3214ed

_20161211_225435

Tip: If you’re looking for the perfect dress for your Grad Ball, make sure you pick something that’s very you. The Ball will  be the last defining event that you’ll associate with uni, and it may well be the last time you see a lot of the people that were in your year. It’s your last chance to show people who you are or what you want to be remembered as, so make the most of it!

snapchat-6288634283336712078ed

Fatima xx

Don’t forget to follow me on Instagram: @fatcat_95

 

L

Leave a Reply

