Mehendi: Ruby anarkali

IMAG9567edIMAG9583edVIDEO0184_0000028886ed1IMAG9514edIMAG0775edThere’s no better way to make a statement than with a little red – or a lot in this case. 😛

For my cousin’s mehendi I wanted to wear something that’s dressy but allows for a lot of movement, and this anarkali was perfect for that. I love the contrast between the black velvet and the red georgette, and chose to accentuate the antique gold embroidery in the outfit by wearing Indian jewellery in the same shade. Whilst I really like the long length of the dress, I didn’t want to look swamped by the swathes of fabric; I wore a pair of large high heels to elongate my silhouette.

I carried the golden tones in my outfit through my makeup with a mid-toned golden smoky eye and gold highlighter. I finished the look with a red lip.

Anarkali – India
Shoes – Unze

Don’t forget to follow me on Instagram: @happilyintothewardrobe | @fatcat_95

Fatima xx

Leave a Reply

